Worst Books of 2019

Disclaimer: everything here is my opinion. If you like any of these books, that’s great! Unfortunately, it didn’t do for me.

Time for a 2019 wrap-up.

This list is surprisingly short. Of course, I hope this means that I read more books that I loved than hated, however it could just be because I read mainly manga this year. I don’t know.

Anyway, this list contains three books that I have rated 3 stars or below, and books that I ended up not having very… good thoughts about.

So let’s start.


The Secret Language of Dogs by Heather Dunphy

Rating: 3 out of 5.

This book is one that I feel that I wasted my time reading it. The Secret Language of Dogs cover how dogs interact and how to bridge that connection between humans and man’s best friend. This book covers matter such as body language, introducing a new pet to your home, etc.

I think that this book is best fitted for someone who never had a dog or worked with a dog. A lot of the information given was things I already knew, and I didn’t agree with certain things (i.e. training your pet). Though I don’t think this book is necessarily bad, I don’t think it holds as much value. I expected this book to give me scientific insight on why animals behave the way they do, but instead it tells of basic things that anyone who had a dog already knows.

Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Listen I don’t like SJM’s A Court of Thorns and Roses series. However, I wanted to see if her Throne of Glass series is as good as they say.

It isn’t…

As I told my friend, I heavily believe that the fandom makes the book better than what they really are. I found this book to be filled with plot holes, contradictions and just a lack of explanation. There was also a lack of development on many of the characters. This book was straight up “tell don’t show” and I hated that.

Was it better than ACOTAR?
Yes.

Is it worth reading it?
No.

I think that this book lacked common elements of a fantasy story that makes a fantasy story. I have a full spoiler-free and in-depth review on this book, if you want more of my thoughts.

Fracture Me by Tahereh Mafi

Rating: 1 out of 5.

I read the original Shatter Me triology in the beginning of 2019 and I have thoughts.

I don’t think I will be returning to the series, but I might make a whole series review on the first three books and their novellas.

But this one. Fracture Me follows one of the characters of the series – Adam – as he goes through things in his perspective.

And. It. Was. So. Boring.

We are stuck in this character’s head for 72 pages of brooding and boring information. There is absolutely no growth in anything but my hate for Adam.

The value of this novella escaped me.

Tell me some of the worst books you’ve read this year.

xoxo
K.W.


Leave a comment